A part time PhD and…having a baby!

Hello all, and firstly apologies for the lack of posts recently, things have been somewhat hectic since my last post before Christmas! Me and my partner had a bit of a surprise when we found out I am pregnant, with our baby due on the 19th July! Needless to say, I have been spending some time getting my head around this new development, in particular trying to reconcile it with my current PhD and career plans….. a challenge indeed!

However, never one to shy away from a ridiculous challenge, I am ploughing ahead regardless and hoping to stay more or less on track with my PhD timeline over the next few years.

I would be very interested to hear from anyone who has/is doing a part-time PhD whilst pregnant or with a small baby, as I am sure sharing tips and having a set of people to talk to who are in a similar boat would really help us all to cope with what will no doubt be a crazy, exciting, but at times difficult journey.

So, please feel free to get in touch via any of these methods:

@megan_beech

m.beech@hud.ac.uk

Or use the comments box below!

2 thoughts on “A part time PhD and…having a baby!

  1. Luckily a PhD has some flexibility, that might help. I don’t have a baby yet, but I feel science should not frighten me out of it :). Of course I don’t have to carry it 9 months in my body…

    • Sorry for not replying earlier, only just spotted your comment! You are right in that there is some flexibility – I can for example suspend for a few months or longer if I would like to, to make sure I don’t fall behind when the baby has arrived. That said, I’m aware that it will be tricky to fit full-time work, PhD study and raising a child in whilst maintaining my sanity…..fingers crossed! 🙂

Leave a Reply

